Asia Cup 2022: All you need to know about the four-team qualifying tournament before the main event on 27 August – Firstpost – Firstpost

The four teams will play each other in a round-robin format to decide the qualifier that joins India and Pakistan in group B of the Asia Cup.
Hong Kong gave India a major scar at the 2018 Asia Cup. ICC/Twitter
2022 Asia Cup qualifiers kicked off on 20 August, Saturday between four teams – Singapore, Hong Kong, United Arab Emirates (UAE), and Kuwait in Muscat.
The qualifiers were originally scheduled to be played in Kuala Lumpur in 2020 but were later shifted to Sri Lanka along with the main tournament.
Subsequently, owing to the economic crisis in Sri Lanka, and with the main tournament being moved to the UAE, the qualifiers were also shifted to Muscat in Oman.
The four teams will play each other in a round-robin format to decide the qualifier that joins India and Pakistan in group B of the Asia Cup
Here are all the details about the qualifying tournament –
Which teams will participate in the Asia Cup 2022 qualifiers, and how were they selected?
Singapore and Hong Kong were selected based on their performance in the Eastern Regional Qualifiers as they finished as the top two teams in the regional qualifiers.
Similarly, UAE and Kuwait were the top two teams in the Western Regional Qualifiers and were selected for the qualifiers.
Where will the Asia Cup 2022 qualifiers be played?
All the matches of the qualifiers will be played at the Oman Cricket Academy Ground 1 in Muscat.
What will be the format of the Asia Cup 2022 qualifiers, and how many matches will be played?
A total of six matches will be played in the qualifying tournament. Each team will the other three once in a round-robin format. The top-ranked team on the basis of points, or Net Run Rate (NRR) (in case of similar points) will qualify for the main tournament. There will be no final match played between the top two teams.
Who will the qualifying team play in the main tournament?
The qualifying team will join the high octane group of India and Pakistan in the main tournament.
What is the schedule of the Asia Cup 2022 qualifiers?
20 August 2022, Saturday – 19.30 IST – Hong Kong vs Singapore
21 August 2022, Sunday – 19.30 IST – Kuwait vs UAE
22 August 2022, Monday – 19.30 IST – Singapore vs UAE
23 August 2022, Tuesday – 19.30 IST – Hong Kong vs Kuwait
24 August 2022, Wednesday – 16.30 IST – Singapore vs Kuwait
24 August 2022, Wednesday – 19.30 IST – UAE vs Hong Kong
The race to ace the #AsiaCup Qualifiers starts today! 😍
Which will be the 1️⃣ team from these 4️⃣ to advance and keep their 🏆 hopes alive? Predict 👇.
— Star Sports (@StarSportsIndia) August 20, 2022
Where can you Live stream the Asia Cup 2022 qualifiers?
The Asia Cup 2022 qualifiers will be broadcasted live on the Star Sports Network. The matches can also be live streamed online on FanCode App and Website.
UAE: CP Rizwan (c), Chirag Suri, Muhammad Waseem, Vriitya Aravind, Ahmed Raza, Basil Hameed, Rohan Mustafa, Kashif Daud, Karthik Meiyappan, Aryan Lakra, Sultan Ahmad, Junaid Siddique, Fahad Nawaz, Zahoor Khan, Zawar Farid, Alishan Sharafu, Sabir Ali
Singapore: Amjad Mahboob (c), Vinoth Baskaran, Surendran Chandramohan, Aman Desai, Aritra Dutta, Rezza Gaznavi, Neil Karnik, Anantha Krishna, Arjun Mutreja, Rohan Rangarajan, Manpreet Sing, Aryaman Sunil, Navin Param, Janak Prakash, Akshay Puri
Kuwait: Mohammed Aslam (c), Nawaf Ahmed, Mohammad Amin, Meet Bhavsar, Adnan Idrees, Muhammad Kashif, Shiraz Khan, Sayed Monib, Edson Silva, Bilal Tahir, Ali Zaheer Usman Patel, Yasin Patel, Shahrukh Quddus, Ravija Sandaruwan, Mohamed Shafeeq, Haroon Shahid
Hong Kong: Nizakat Khan (c), Kinchit Shah, Zeeshan Ali, Ateeq Iqbal, Aizaz Khan, Ehsan Khan, Scott McKechnie, Mohammad Ghazanfar, Yasim Murtaza, Dhananjay Rao, Wajid Shah, Ayush Shukla, Ahan Trivedi, Mohammad Waheed, Haroon Arshad, Babar Hayat, Aftab Hussain
Team form:
United Arab Emirates: UAE starts as the favourites for the tournament. However, they will play under a new captain as the earlier captain Ahmed Raza was removed as captain just a day before the tournament. If the team is divided into two groups of sorts due to such an abrupt decision, they might look out of their place in the qualifying tournament.
Unbelievable for UAE to have replaced Ahmed Raza as their T20 skipper just days before the Asia Cup Qualifiers. Unwarranted, especially before a big tournament.
Back in 2015, Khurram Khan was replaced by Mohammad Tauqir as captain right before the World Cup in AUS & NZ.
— Amey Pethkar (@ameypethkar9) August 19, 2022
Singapore: Singapore were the Eastern Regional Qualifiers champions, but will play the qualifying tournament without their star player Tim David, who is trying his luck to be part of the Australian set-up.
Singapore’s latest outing in the short format was at the second T20 global qualifier in Zimbabwe last month, where they failed miserably and lost all their matches.
Kuwait: Kuwait created a sort of an upset as they finished second in the Western Regional Qualifiers, ahead of Oman. They will be high on confidence coming on the back of a 5-0 whitewash of Bahrain
Hong Kong: Hong Kong was a part of the 2018 Asia Cup and would prove to be a strong competition against the other three. They also gave a major upset scar to India at the 2018 tournament. However, since then, they lost their captain Anshuman Rath to the Indian domestic circuit and have struggled a bit in recent times.
Read all the Latest News, Trending News, Cricket News, Bollywood News, India News and Entertainment News here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.
Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.
Wasim Akram has been a frequent figure in the commentary box during the Asia Cup. He has been caught several times engaged in a conversation with young cricketers.
India defeated Afghanistan in the Super 4 match of the Asia Cup 2022
Pakistan have made a place in the final of the Asia Cup 2022 while India have been knocked out of the tournament
Sign up for a weekly curated briefing of the most important strategic affairs stories from across the world.
Tanzania beat Botswana by 4 wickets
Match Ended

Innings Break

Play In Progress

Play In Progress
Bangladesh Women beat USA Women by 55 runs
Ireland Women beat Scotland Women by 19 runs
Ireland Women beat USA Women by 9 wickets
Bangladesh Women beat Scotland Women by 6 wickets
England Women beat South Africa Women by 137 runs
Australia Women beat West Indies Women by 157 runs
Namibia beat Papua New Guinea by 61 runs
Uganda beat Kenya by 3 wickets (D/L method)
England beat Pakistan by 6 wickets
Australia beat India by 4 wickets
Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by 23 runs
Australia beat New Zealand by 25 runs
England beat South Africa by 9 wickets
England beat New Zealand by 5 wickets
Gujarat Titans beat Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets
Rajasthan Royals beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 7 wickets
Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Lucknow Super Giants by 14 runs
Gujarat Titans beat Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets
Oman beat Papua New Guinea by 85 runs
Tanzania beat Botswana by 4 wickets
Network18 sites
Copyright © 2022. Firstpost – All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Comment