Chameera and Lahiru in Lanka squad for T-20 World Cup – Daily News

E-Paper   Live
September 17, 2022
The experienced pace duo Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara have been recalled to the Sri Lanka T-20 squad for the upcoming T-20 World Cup which will be held from October 17 in Australia .Sports Minister Roshan Ranasinghe has approved the 15 member squad for the T- 20 world cup. Chameera and Lahiru Kumara came to the squad in place of pacemen Asitha Fernando and Matheesha Pathirana from the Asia Cup squad. However both Chameera and Lahiru Kumara are subject to fitness test The skipper Dasun Shanaka said he is sure both Chameera and Kumara will join the team .
The 30 year old right arm fast bowler Chameera who played his last T-20- game on June 11 at Pallekele was named for the Asia Cup earlier but at the last moment he had a injury during training and out from the squad . Chameera the product from Maris Stella College Negombo has played 50 T-20 internationals taking 47 wickets with best figures of 4 for 17 and has picked 44 wickets in 42 ODI’s in his seven year career.
National selection committee focused on Chameera for the while ball format with his ability to bowl death overs which is brneficial for the Sri Lanka team.
Meanwhile Lahiru Kumara 25year old right arm fast bowler has returned to the squad with his ability to bowl at 140kmph is an advantage for next World cup in Australia. The selectors focused on pacemen for the Australian wickets which always favour the fast bowlers . Lahiru Kumara played his last T-20 in February against India in Dharamsala later got injured and missed recent tours and recovered well to play for the T-20 world cup . He has played 129 T-20 ‘s while taking 23 wickets with best figures of 3 for 7. Both Chameera and Lahiru Kumara were the key pacemen of the last T-20 world cup held in UAE.
The Asian Cup winning team captain Dasun Shanaka will lead the team once again while his captaincy during the Asia Cup was praised by the cricket experts . The deputy skipper Charith Asalanka who was not among the runs during the last Asia Cup is included in the team as well as named deputy skipper while all rounder Dhananjaya de Silva also in the squad with his good performance .The openers Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka both are in good form ensured their placers while dashing stroke player Bhanuka Rajapaksha who was named man of the match at the Asian Cup and top order batter Dhanushka Gunathileka once again are in the team. Ashen Bandara the all rounder is once again in the 17 member squad.
The newcomers Dilshan Madushanka and Pramod Madushan are also in the squad along with Chamika Karunaratne and skipper Shanaka as the fast bowlers of the side. The experienced spinners Wanidu Hasaranga , Maheeesh Theekshana and Jeffery Vandersay were named as spinners of the side . –
However SLC has named five stand by players in addition to the world cup squad .Dinesh Chandimal. Ashen Bandara, Nuwanindu Fernando, Binura Fernando and Praveen Jayawickrama are the five stand-by players . Two stand-by players Ashen Bandara and Praveen Jayawickrama will join the 15 member squad as additional players.
.. The Sri Lankan squad is scheduled to commence special one week training in Pallekele and later leave for the Australian tour. They will play qualifying round from October 16 and first match Vs Namibia followed by UAE match on October 18 and Netherlands match on October 20. All three qualifying rounds matches will be played on Geelong, in Melbourne .. Prior to the qualifying round matches Sri Lanka will play two warm up matches Vs Zimbabwe on October 10 and Vs Ireland on October 13 and both matches will be held in Melbourne.
Sri Lanka T-20 squad for the T- 20 world cup in Australia Dasun Shanaka(Capt), Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Dhanushka Gunathileka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva , Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Dilshan Madushanka, Promod Madushan , Wanidu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay Stand byes Dinesh Chandimal ,Praveen Jayawickrama, Binura Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando and Ashan Bandara

<div class="views-lazy-load">Loading…</div>
Eric Rajapakse


© The Associated Newspapers of Ceylon Ltd., 1995–2022. All rights reserved.


Leave a Comment