Check out our watch list for 2022-23 USA TODAY HSSA Boys Cross Country Player of the Year – USA TODAY

The USA TODAY High School Sports Awards is pleased to announce its watch list for the 2022-23 USA TODAY HSSA Boys Cross Country Team!
This initial list includes 50 current student-athletes who meet the nomination criteria for this year’s national Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year Award. These athletes were either nominees in last year’s national awards show, or athletes who were seriously considered based on season-wide performance, state and national championships, and any other state, regional and/or national recognition. 
This year’s official 2022-23 USA TODAY HSSA Boys Cross Country Team will be announced this winter. All final team members will be honored as nominees for national Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year. The winner, along with three finalists, will be revealed during the third annual USA TODAY High School Sports Awards. Visit the event website for updates leading up to this summer’s on-demand event! 
Other fall USA TODAY HSSA Watch Lists:
Football Defense 
Field Hockey 
Wednesday, Sept. 14 — Girls Cross Country 
Thursday, Sept. 15 — Girls Volleyball
Friday, Sept. 16 — Football Offense 
The purpose of these watch lists is to track eligible nominees for this year’s national show. Athletes could be removed from this list if they no longer play for their high school team (either by choice or injury), or if their high school no longer participates in a state-sanctioned championship tournament. 
2022-23 USA TODAY HSSA Boys Cross Country Watch List: 
Connor Ackley, SR | Hilliard Davidson High School | Hilliard, Ohio
Luke Athay, JR | Idaho Falls High School | Idaho Falls, Idaho
Pierre Attiogbe, SR | St. Albans School | Washington, D.C.
Hudson Betts, SR | Fayetteville High School | Fayetteville, Ark.
Simeon Birnbaum, SR | Stevens High School | Rapid City, S.D.
Micah Blomker, JR | Shawnee Mission North High School | Shawnee Mission, Kan.
Noah Breker, SR | Armstrong High School | Plymouth, Minn. 
Tanner Brown, JR | Chaparral High School | Parker, Colo.
Sam Burgess, SR | Framingham High School | Framingham, Mass.
Antonio Camacho-Bucks, SR | Centennial High School | Ellicott City, Md.
Josh Cherry, JR | Edmond Memorial High School | Edmond, Okla.
Sawyer Clarkson, SR | Belle Fourche High School | Belle Fourche, S.D.
Aidan Cox, SR | Coe-Brown Northwood Academy | Northwood, N.H.
Tayson Echohawk, SR | Orem High School | Orem, Utah
Nick Gilles, SR | Minnetonka High School | Minnetonka, Minn.
Tyrone Gorze, SR | Crater High School | Central Point, Ore.
Sami Hattab, SR | St. Xavier High School | Louisville, Ky.
Wyatt Haughton, SR | Shawnee Mission East High School | Shawnee Mission, Kan.
Andrew Hauser, JR | Rock Bridge High School | Columbia, Mo.
Jackson Heidesch, SR | Dowling Catholic High School | West Des Moines, Iowa
Liam Heninger, SR | Orem High School | Orem, Utah
Aiden Johnson, JR | Sheyenne High School | West Fargo, N.D.
Hunter Jones, SR | Benzie Central High School | Benzonia, Mich.
Devan Kipyego, SR | St. Raphael Academy | Pawtucket, R.I.
Patrick Koon, JR | Leon High School | Leon, Fla.
Ferenc Kovacs, JR | Woodberry Forest School | Woodberry Forest, Va.
Rendon Kuykendall, SR | Hope Christian High School | Albuquerque, N.M.
Kaden Levings, SR | Cheyenne Mountain High School | Colorado Springs, Colo.
Jake Liebert, JR | Wando High School | Mount Pleasant, S.C.
Kole Mathison, SR | Carmel High School | Carmel, Ind.
Caden Miracle, SR | Bell County High School | Pineville, Ky.
Zack Munson, SR | Sehome High School | Bellingham, Wash.
Jacob Nenow, SR | Jesuit High School | Portland, Ore.
Riley Newport, SR | DeKalb High School | Dekalb, Ill.
Carson Noecker, SR | Hartington-Newcastle High School | Hartington, Neb.
Aidan Puffer, SR | Manchester High School | Manchester, Conn.
Miles Ramer, JR | Ravenwood High School | Brentwood, Tenn.
Memphis Rich, JR | Richmond HIll High School | Richmond Hill, Ga.
Aiden Ross, JR | Uxbridge High School | Uxbridge, Mass.
Aaron Sahlman, SR | Newbury Park High School | Newbury Park, Calif.
Kevin Sanchez, SR | Vandegrift High School | Austin, Texas
Sam Scott, JR | Minneapolis Southwest High School | Minneapolis, Minn.
Daniel Simmons, JR | Salmon High School | Salmon, Idaho
Keegan Smith, SO | Knoxville Catholic High School | Knoxville, Tenn.
Hayes Trapp, SR | Augusta Preparatory Day School | Augusta, Ga.
Michael Vocke, JR | Jesuit High School | New Orleans, La.
Jimmy Wischusen, JR | Union Catholic Regional High School | Scotch Plains, N.J.
Leo Young, SR | Newbury Park High School | Newbury Park, Calif.
Lex Young, SR | Newbury Park High School | Newbury Park, Calif. 
Who else should we be tracking for national Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year? Suggestions can be submitted to both or


Leave a Comment