National Hockey team for Men's Asia Cup, Asian Games Qualifiers announced – United News of Bangladesh – UNB

Bangladesh Hockey Federation (BHF) on Tuesday announced a  20-member National Hockey team to compete in the Men’s Asia Cup and Asian Games Qualifiers.
The BHF announced the same squad for both the tournaments, but named two separate captains for two tournaments.
Rezaul Karim Babu will lead the Bangladesh team in the Asian Games Hockey Qualifiers scheduled for May 6-15 in Thai capital Bangkok. 
Khorshedur Rahman will lead the Bangladesh team in the eight- nation Asia Cup Hockey to be held in Indonesian capital Jakarta from May 23 to June 1.
Iman Gobinathan Krishnamurthy of Malaysia named as the head coach,  Zahirul Islam Mitul as assistant coach and Mohammad  Rafiul Haque as team leader of Bangladesh for both the tournaments.
Meanwhile, the cheque handover and team jersey unveiling ceremony of the team will be held on Wednesday (Apr 20)  at 11 am at the Falcon Hall of Bangladesh Air Force.
Earlier, Bangladesh qualified for the Men’s Asia Cup  as they clinched the fourth consecutive title of the Men’s AHF Cup last month.
READ: Junior Asia Cup Hockey: Bangladesh put in tough group A
Oman, who finished as runners-up in the meet, also qualified to play in the eight-nation Asia Cup with auto-qualifiers – India, Japan, Malaysia, Pakistan, South Korea, hosts Indonesia.
Bangladesh squad: 
Goalkeepers: Biplob Kujur, Abu Sayeed Nippon, 
Defenders: Khorshedur Rahman, Farhd Ahmed Shitul, Ashraful Islam, Mehedi Hasan, Rezaul Karim Babu, Shohanur Rahman Sabuj
Midfielders: Sarwar Hossain, Roman Sarkar, Naim Uddin, Fazle Hossain Rabbi, Prince Lal Samanta, Al Nahian Shubho,
Forwards: Rasel Mahmud Jimmy, Milon Hossain, Pushkor Khisha Mimo, Arshad Hossain, Deen Islam Emon, Rakibul Hasan Rocky (Jr).
United News of Bangladesh (UNB)
Cosmos Centre 69/1 New Circular Road, Malibagh, Dhaka-1217,Bangladesh.
Email :


Leave a Comment