Ukraine: Ben Stiller and Sean Penn latest Americans banned from Russia – BBC

By Sam Hancock
BBC News

This video can not be played
Watch: US actor Ben Stiller meets President Zelensky in Kyiv
Kremlin officials have added US actors Ben Stiller and Sean Penn to Russia's "stop list", meaning they are now banned from entering the country.
They join the likes of fellow Hollywood star Morgan Freeman, US President Joe Biden and outgoing UK PM Boris Johnson.
Russia and some Western nations have been exchanging rounds of sanctions since the war in Ukraine began.
Oligarchs linked to Vladimir Putin have been issued with similar travel bans in the West.
On Monday the Russian foreign ministry named 25 high-ranking US officials, business people and actors and said they were banned from entering Russia "on a permanent basis".
US Commerce Secretary Gina Raimondo, four deputy commerce secretaries and six US senators appeared on the list.
"The hostile actions of the American authorities, which continue to follow a Russophobic course, destroying bilateral ties and escalating confrontation between Russia and the United States, will continue to be resolutely rebuffed," the ministry said.
Stiller and Penn have been outspoken critics of Russia's invasion of Ukraine and both have visited Kyiv since the start of the conflict.
Stiller – who is a goodwill ambassador for the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) – made clear his feelings for Ukraine's President Volodymyr Zelensky on a trip he made to the country to mark World Refugee Day in June.
In a clip of the pair, the star thanks Zelensky for "taking the time" to meet him and says: "You're my hero, you're amazing."
Meanwhile, Penn, who is known for his political activism as much as he is for his films, fled Ukraine in March while filming a documentary about the conflict. He later said he considered joining Ukrainian forces to fight against Russia.
The two actors are now among 1,073 names on Russia's "stop list". It also includes US film director Rob Reiner, incoming British Prime Minister Liz Truss and scores of UK, US and EU officials.
The latest retaliatory measures from Russia come as a response to sanctions by the US administration. The latest were announced on Friday as part of a wider plan by the G7 to impose a price cap on Russian oil in a bid to scupper Moscow's ability to finance its war.
US Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen said the cap would also help fight inflation, which is on the rise in many of the world's economies.
What sanctions are being imposed on Russia?
G7 agrees to impose price cap on Russian oil
Russia blames sanctions for gas pipeline shutdown
Second Canada stabbings suspect dies after arrest
Zelensky hails 'good news' as settlements recaptured
UN sees life expectancy, education and income fall
How the ‘man in black’ was exposed by women he terrorised
The British-era colonel revered in India
New cabinet: Who is in Liz Truss's top team?
Wiretap and spyware claims circle around Greek PM
Should billboard advertising be banned?
How huge statues 'walked' 900 years ago
The biggest myths of the teenage brain
Canada stab victim 'died helping others'
Ukraine urges Europe not to wobble on war support
The meteoric rise and dramatic fall of Boris Johnson
The British isles that disappear every day
'There's more to life than achieving a KPI'
© 2022 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read about our approach to external linking.


Leave a Comment